Some people are arrested for serious crimes like murder or robbery, but
others may be hauled off to jail for merely punching an irritating referee
at a little league football game. According to the
New York Daily News the police are looking out for a Florida resident who was coaching a pee-wee
football team and got a little too into the game. The coach was upset
when a referee made an unfair and seemingly biased call. He ran across
the field and decked the referee in the face at the small park football
field near Fort Lauderdale.
The referee told police later that he called the game a forfeit after the
West Park Saints’ assistant coach made some nasty remarks from the
sidelines. That assistant coach, Dion Robinson, then pushed the referee
and was held back before breaking free and punching him in the face. The
referee fell to the ground after the blow, but did not need medical attention.
The brawl was posted on YouTube by a witness who recorded it on his cell
phone. The police are now searching for Dion Robinson and intend to charge him with
If you let your emotions get the best of you and recently punched a referee
or another person at a sports game, then you can be charged with assault
as well. This charge could mean jail time and steep fines. According to
the Florida Criminal Statute §784.011, assault is a second degree
misdemeanor which has the maximum penalty of up to 60 days in jail and
a $500 fine. If a person is convicted of aggravated assault, it is a third
degree felony with a maximum penalty of5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Talk to a criminal defense lawyer in the area today if you have been charged
with assault or aggravated assault and want defense in court for your crime.